Who will be in the Otero County Primary Elections on June 4th, 2024?


In New Mexico, the statewide primary election to elect the candidates to represent the Republican and the Democratic parties for each available elected office will be selected by the voters on June 4th, 2024. The day to complete paperwork and file as a candidate has passed and the New Mexico Secretary of State has released the candidates qualified to run for the various offices both statewide and locally. The candidates approved for office include...

Voters can cast ballots beginning May 7 for the June 4 primary. In New Mexico, only voters registered to one of the three major parties ― Democratic Party, Republican Party, Libertarian Party of New Mexico ― are eligible to vote in the primary election. The Green Party of New Mexico is considered a minor party. Primary elections determine each qualified party's nomination of candidates for federal offices, and in certain cases include state and county offices.

  • State Senator District 33: Nicholas Allan Paul (R) unopposed Republican Primary no Democratic Opponent
  • State Representative District 51: Ashlie Myers (D), Steve Brockett (D) seeking the Democratic Candidacy and will face off against unopposed John Block (R)
  • District Attorney 12th Judicial District: Michael Ryan Suggs (R) unopposed Republican Primary no Democratic Opponent
  • Magistrate Judge Division 2: Albert Greene (R)  unopposed Republican Primary no Democratic Opponent
  • County Clerk: Selina Maes (R)  unopposed Republican Primary no Democratic Opponent
  • County Treasurer: Karl Paul Melton (R), Rachel Black (R)  Republican Primary no Democratic Opponent
  • County Commissioner District 3: Vickie Pruiett Marquardt (R)  unopposed Republican Primary no Democratic Opponent
  • State Representative District 53: Democrat incumbent Willie Madrid from Chaparral will face Las Cruces Democrat Jon Hill in the Primary Election. The winner will face Organ Republican Elizabeth Lee Winterrowd.
  • State Senator District 33 Jim Townsend (R) is running unopposed.

Federal Office candidates include:

For the senate voters will be able to choose between Democrat incumbent Martin Heinrich from Albuquerque and Santa Fe Republican Nella Louise Domenici in the General Election. Neither candidate faces a challenge in the primary.

In the District 2 Congressional race which includes Otero County Democrat incumbent Gabriel Vasquez from Las Cruces will once again look to defeat La Luz Republican Yvette Herrell.

More News from Alamogordo
I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified