New Mexico Representative Yvette Herrel Votes Yes in Bi-Partisan Respect for Child Survivors Act


New Mexico Representative Yvette Herrel Votes YES for Bi-Partisan S. 4926: Respect for Child Survivors Act. The bill, entitled Respect for Child Survivors Act, was led by Republican Texas Senator John Cornyn and co-sponsored by Democrat Delaware Senator Chris Coons, Republican South Carolina Senator Lindsey Graham and Democrat Minnesota Senator Amy Klobuchar.

The bill, which was supported by multiple charities and think tanks including Child USA, addressed how the FBI handles sexual abuse cases with children. Under the now-passed legislation, victims will be interviewed by those with expertise that appropriately addresses their trauma.

The FBI would then be required to form multi-disciplinary teams when investigating child sexual exploitation or abuse, trafficking and those used for child sexual abuse material.

These experts would include investigative personnel, mental health professionals, medical personnel, family advocacy workers, child advocacy workers and prosecutors.

According to the Child USA think tank, the current problem is the FBI has previously mishandled cases of sexual abuse, most notably accusations against the now-imprisoned USA Gymnastics team doctor Larry Nassar.

The motion was passed with a total of 385 votes in favor of the bill. This included 215 Democrats and 170 Republicans. There were 18 Representatives who did not vote on the bill.

Text to the bill is located at

There were 28 Republicans who voted against the bill and a total of 170 voted for it in bipartisan support.

Here is the full list of Republican Representatives who voted against the bill.

  • Andy Biggs - Arizona's 5th District
  • Dan Bishop - North Carolina's 9th District
  • Lauren Boebert - Colorado's 3rd District
  • Mo Brooks - Alabama's 5th District
  • Michael Cloud - Texas' 27th District
  • Andrew Clyde - Georgia's 9th District
  • James Comer - Kentucky's 1st District
  • Rick Crawford - Arkansas' 1st District
  • Byron Donalds - Florida 19th District
  • Virginia Foxx - North Carolina's 5th District
  • Louie Gohmert - Texas' 1st District
  • Bob Good - Virginia's 5th District
  • Paul Gosar - Arizona's 4th District
  • Marjorie Taylor Greene - Georgia's 14th District
  • Jody Hice - Georgia's 10th District
  • Clay Higgins - Louisiana's 3rd District
  • Ronny Jackson - Texas' 13th District
  • Thomas Massie - Kentucky's 4th District
  • Tom McClintock - California's 4th District
  • Barry Moore - Alabama's 2nd District
  • Troy Nehls - Texas' 22nd District
  • Ralph Norman - South Carolina's 5th District
  • Scott Perry - Pennsylvania 10th District
  • Matt Rosendale - Montana at-large
  • Chip Roy - Texas' 21st District
  • John Rutherford - Florida's 4th District
  • Austin Scott - Georgia's 8th District
  • Jeff Van Drew - New Jersey's 2nd District.

On Motion to Suspend the Rules and Pass Dec 21, 2022, 10:06 p.m. Passed 385/28

Complete bill details:

I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified